PDA

View Full Version : Inquiry

SpecM78
02-14-2016, 09:29 AM
Hi,

I've been racing Spec Miata for the last few years down here in the Maritimes, but things aren't looking good for that series in 2016. So I'm casting around for some place to do an event or two this year. Does anybody know where a Spec Miata would fit in your events, and (if so) what additional scrutineering/safety stuff might be required to get on track? The car had a valid SCCA logbook when I bought it, but we've switched over to using a local one for the the last three years.

Also, would my regional race license in Atlantic Canada would be recognized in Ontario?

Pardon me for asking about this stuff if the answers are obvious, but but I was a newbie when I first got involved 4 years ago, and I find the organizational structure(s) for road racing in Canada to be kind of baffling. Any advice is appreciated.

Andy Mitchell
Spec Miata #78

nepeanhearing
02-14-2016, 09:42 AM
http://www.mco.org/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=17729

These guys should be able to give you some insight into the Ottawa/Calabogie scene. I don't race with them, I am in Formula Libre, but I know a lot of them, and they are genuinely nice people, who look like they are having a lot of fun!

Rich Kent

Shark
02-14-2016, 10:27 AM
Hi Andy.

Would love to have you. Come on out and race in the GT Sprints Series.

GT4 or GT5 class is probably where you would be.

And we would recognize your license. All we would do is a quick written test to make sure you are current with all the safety stuff, and a quick observation.

As far as the car, Dave King is the chief scrutineer. But everything you need to know is on this website in the road racing rules section.
Although the rules look like a lot of reading, it's not. Pick the sections that pertain to you and your car.

Feel free to ask questions or email me directly if you like.

DEK
02-14-2016, 03:43 PM
Ray, I've sent you a "PM"

DAVE KING

SpecM78
02-14-2016, 03:55 PM