CASC Ontario Region Message Forums  

Go Back   CASC Ontario Region Message Forums > CASC-OR Divisions > Autoslalom Specific Forum

Old 10-07-2011, 03:03 PM

H stock rules

Hey all,

I'm new to this and have just re-read the 2011 regulations with mind to prep level classifications for next year.

In the one event I attended, I was in H stock with my bog standard '99 Corolla. I was just wondering what I could do to maximise my chances in this car and stay in this class.

From what I understand from the regs, I can use 2 prep points. I could use one to take out rear or passenger seat (whichever is heavier) and with the other, I could run Toyo R888's.

If I was to run the R888's, my cars factory tyre size is not available (185/65 R14) so I thought I was out of luck. Then I re-read and saw that it says any tyre size can be used as long as it satisfies the rule about tread not being further out than the wheel arch.

So given that, it seems it is OK for me to run the R888 in 205/55 R14 size if it fits. Does anyone know if this wheel will fit OK? I can also use 1/4" wheel spacers from what I understand.

Is my understanding on this correct?

Thanks,

Tom...
edit: And oh, not wanting to blow over a grand on tyres just for that sh*tbox of a car, I was hoping that they would then be OK on a Miata (and subsequently a Super 7) i'm planning on getting in the next couple of years. Do people run that size on Miatas?

Last edited by Tom_17; 10-07-2011 at 04:20 PM.
Old 10-07-2011, 03:21 PM

Re: H stock rules

People have had a lot of success with some street tires such as the Hankook RS3 and Dunlop star specs. That may be another option as well.
Old 10-07-2011, 03:23 PM

Hi Tom,

You've got the guts of the idea. The most important thing you can do in HS is tires.

First things first: Do you have spare wheels to mount these on and change wheels at the event, or do you plan to daily drive on them?
Old 10-07-2011, 03:25 PM