OTA Event #1

time attack director / Tag: Time Attack

The 2012 season has finally arrived and event #1 is in the books.  The venue for the event on May 26th was Canadian Tire MotorSports Park - DDT.  The weather was absolutely perfect with lots of sun and a few clouds in the afternoon.  Fifty four competitors participated in the event with 22 novices competing in their first Ontario Time Attack  event.

Going into the season the question was whether Ujjwal Verma would be back to defend his 2011 title. That question is now history as Ujjwal  (SPDA) placed first overall in his yellow 03 Mustang GT.  Close behind in second place is Lloyd Martin (SPDA) in his silver 03 Z06 Corvette.  Third place is occupied by James Houghton (SPDA) in his white 98 Acura Integra.  Top Novice was Paval Musial (SPDA) in his 00 Mazda Miata.

So how close is the competition after one event?  Ujjwal is .516 points ahead of Lloyd and Lloyd is a scant .037 points ahead of Jim.

In the class standings, we have several close battles.  In GT2, Rob McCarty leads Peter Lucas by .037 points.  In GT3, Paval Musial is ahead of Andrew Van De Peer by .381 points.  In T1, Brandon Taylor has Pierre Lefebvre by .040 points.  In T3, Ralf Scholtes is in front of Albert Ribeiro by .479 points.

The event was hosted by OMSC and was both well organized and incident free.

**All photos provided by Change CRAFTER Services.

Share this