OTA Event #4

time attack director / Tag: Time Attack

Event #4 of the Mobil1 Ontario Time Attack Championship Series presented by TOYO Tires took place at Shannonville MotorSports Park on June 10th and was hosted by MCO.  The Long Track was used for this event, and other than being hot the weather was great.

The closest matches of the day were in Touring 1 and Touring 3.  In T1, Pierre Lefebvre (MCO) in his 91 Honda CRX eclipsed Barry Greenaway (SPDA) in his 97 Mazda Miata by a mere .539 points.  In T3, Albert Ribeiro (TAC) in his 05 Mini Cooper just managed to squeak past Ralf Scholtes (OMSC) in his 93 Mazda MX3 by the smallest of margins, .054 points.

The top three competitors for the day were Ujjwal Verma, Chris Paczynski and Lloyd Martin.  The top three Novices were Erik Dalla Riva, Corey Whiteman and Barry Greenaway. 

In the Overall Championship Standings Ujjwal Verma continues to increase his point standings and is starting to distance himself from the second and third place contenders.  Ujjwal has 400 points while Lloyd Martin holds down second place with 396.465 points.  James Houghton sits in third place with 393.721 points but is losing ground to Salmaan Moledina who is right behind him in fourth place with 393.242 points.

In the Overall Novice Standings Ralf Scholtes is in first place with 372.718 points and Aaron Thompson is close behind in second place with 372.177 points.

Chris Paczynski again set the Fastest Time of the Event and is now sitting in 34th position overall.  Can he make it to the top once again?  Is there time?  Will Ujjwal's car hold together?  And then we have Lloyd, James and a slew of others.  Could one of them be the spoiler?  Everything now depends on driving ability and the will to win.

Up next is Toronto MotorSports Park on July Saturday, July 7th.

***All photos courtesy of Change CRAFTER Services Inc.

Share this